Mission Improbable: Reading List 2015

“Whenever you read a good book, somewhere in the world a door opens to allow more light.” – Vera Nazarian

I will not lie to you. I had no idea who Ms. Nazarian was until about 30 seconds ago when I googled, “quotes about reading and love.” (FYI: she is a Russian-American author of fantasy, science fiction, and Mythpunk books #themoreyouknow.)

However, the until-recently-unknown authoress has provided the perfect reason for why I need to diversify this year’s reading list. Somewhere in this world a whole lot of light is being shined— kind of like a supernova to the retina— and it is all my fault. I’ve spent the majority of my life reading books similar in nature (fantasy, science fiction, the occasional classic, contemporary young adult, dystopian), and not to brag, but I must have opened hundreds of doors.

The problem is these doors might be in close proximity to each other, as I do not often read outside of my immediate interests. (Can you imagine the headache that kind of light would induce? #notgonnadontwanna.) So the goal is to put some space between these figurative doors by challenging myself to read like a bride: something old, something new, something borrowed, and something blue.

Ok. That was a joke. I just mean I am going to add some new genres to my reading list.

Also, I should probably admit I’ve primarily read only female authors. I had a weird bias against male authors as a youth and it took the combined powers of Isaac Marion, James Dashner, and John Green to set me straight. While I am going all Usher on you guys with #myconfessions, I might as well add I tend to lose interest with a book if it does not have some type of love subplot.

Please refrain from throwing stones and/or rotten tomatoes.

***Quick Aside: I will not be adding horror to the list as my mind does a perfectly exceptional job freaking me out all on its own.***

Books (being) turned into movies: Paper Towns, Wild, In the Heart of the Sea, The Longest Ride, The Best of Me, Far From the Maddening Crowd, The Martian, The Queen of Tearling, and Love Letters to the Dead.

Books I want to read: Never Have I Ever: My Life so Far, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, Isla and the Happily Ever After, Water for Elephants, Yes Please, It Happened at the Fair, Size 12 is not Fat, and Sheepfarmer’s Daughter.

Books outside my norm: The Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Ender quintet, 2 a.m. at the Cat’s Pajamas, A Room with a View, The Fifth Wave, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Count of Monte Cristo, A Time to Kill, High Fidelity, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, and On the Road.

Oldies but goodies: Anne of Green Gables (1-3), Harry Potter (4-7), Mixed Signals, To Kill a Mockingbird (especially before this summer), and Kissing Adrien.

Christian and nonfiction: the Bible, the Case for Christ, the Case for Faith, Unplugged, Don’t Miss Your Moment, Effective Communication, 100 Words Everyone Mixes up or Mangles, Jab/Jab/Jab/Right Hook, Writing for Magazines, Wide Awake, Cries of the Heart, and The Grammar Devotional.

Now the question remains: will this list make like a New Year’s resolution and slowly slip to the wayside, or struggle through the distractions of life to rise victorious?

Stay tuned, folks.

Leave a Reply

